Day 150 – 15 Minutes Makes a Difference

Day 150 – Wednesday, June 25th 2014

I listen to a lot of podcasts (which you crack on me about from time to time).

The other day – Friday, I think – I was binge listening to Erik Fisher’s Beyond the To Do List Podcast. I listened to Dustin Riechmann’s episode where he spoke of carving out 15 minutes of focused time with his wife every night.

We did that on Wednesday, almost by accident. We just sat there on our bed and caught up. We hit on funny topics. We discussed a parenting struggle you were having. We talked about a parenting struggle that I’m having. You shared how much you relate to one of the struggles that one of our children has. I talked about how much I feel just ill-equipped to be a dad and even a provider.

That sounds heavy. It wasn’t completely that heavy. We joked and ribbed and stared lovingly in each other’s eyes (that might be an overstatement, but still it was refreshing).

It’s really true that 15 minutes doesn’t sound like a long time, but if it’s focused, it’s so much more time than most couples take for each other (I’m guessing)… especially couples with a child or three.

In the end, if I don’t have a good marriage and a good family, there’s nothing else that really matters. You are my primary stewardship. Our children come a close second. We need to continue to build our relationship and knit ourselves together.

Most everything in the world conspires against quality marriages. Let’s not let that happen.

(I probably should give Dustin Riechmann a shoutout…. click here to go to his site.)

Leave a Reply

