Day 149 – Guys Day at the Lego Movie

Day 149 – Tuesday June 24th, 2014

I took the day off today to hang with our boys.

The agenda:

1. The Lego Movie

2. Mcdonalds for lunch

3. Chattahoochee Nature Center (to walk all trails)

4. Riverside Park’s playground

5. A shower

It was a fun day with the boys, although I did make the mistake of leaving my work email on my phone. I turned off my phone a couple times completely to battle back the temptation, but a few unfortunate message got through.

What I learned during this day?

I don’t want my job to ever overtake my family. It’s not healthy.

I need to spend more direct time with both boys together and alone. We saw folks fishing and doing other things. Perhaps I need to reconnect with some of those hobbies and take the boys out? I need to not only be a dad, but a fun teacher on some of these things.

I appreciate that you encouraged me to find a few days this summer to take off and just spend it with the family. It was a fun day.

Ending the day at the playground

Ending the day at the playground

Snacks for The Lego Movie

Snacks for The Lego Movie

 

Leave a Reply

