A Year of Falling in Love

Your birthday was yesterday. You turned 39. In a couple months, you and I will be having our 9 year anniversary.

Next year you turn 40. And we will celebrate our 10th anniversary.

This year, from your birthday to our 10th anniversary (so about a year and 3 1/2 months), I’m committing to falling in love with you… and wooing you so much that you fall in love with me.

Aren’t we already in love?

Of course we are! We love each other. I love you. You love me.

That said, we are also parents of young children. We’ve got some baggage and stress and whatnot. I’ve not been great at creating moments where you and I can connect deeply.

From eating dinner in front of the TV to not having consistent date nights to not always listening or noticing or sharing my world with you.

I want to take the good stuff and make it… gooder. Not better. I want it gooder… Really good.

How am I going to do this?

Stay tuned. I’m not even sure. But I want to become a Ph.D. in ‘Tina lovin”.

My first, simple step is this: Talk to you.

Yes, during the day, I will try to make sure we don’t just text, but that we talk at least once a day.

Simple.

The other thing I’m going to do: Look for opportunities for ‘moments’. I want to create as many small, fun moments. To use Bob Goff’s terminology, let’s have some ‘capers’.

We’ll see how it goes, but you are my wife and we’re going to spend the rest of our lives together, so let’s make it awesome, right? Let’s not settle for a few laughs and managing ours and our children’s schedules.

I love you. I’ve fallen in love with you. I will fall more and more in love with you. 🙂

One thought on “A Year of Falling in Love

Leave a Reply

