Because You Are My Sweet Wife

I’m sure I’ve written about this before, but it bears repeating.

Too many people withhold love to their spouses because the spouse isn’t doing what he or she should be doing in order to ingratiate himself (or herself) to the significant other.

In other words, we hold back affection or any other acts of kindness and love until the other person does what we want them to do do (pardon the pronoun agreement issues).

The last thing I want to do is make you jump through hoops in order to win my affection or my simple, daily commitment to love you (with all that means).

In other words, I don’t love you just because of all the sweet things you do and say and who you are. I also love you because I’m committed to you, my wife.  Even if you’re crabby. Even if you are going through a difficult time. Regardless of any of that mess, I love you. You are the woman that God gave me to love. And you have chosen me.

I love you because of all that you are, do, and say. But I also love you because of the simple fact that you’re my wife. We’ve become one. And it’s my primary, over-arching calling.

Leave a Reply

