Because You Put On Our Daughter’s Shoes

Mondays through Wednesdays are my days to get our daughter up and going to get to school.

You always get up around 7:10ish to do her hair and mop up some of the details I leave off (I’m sure she would have left her lunch at home many times were you not there to manage the final 5-10 minutes).

The biggest thing I appreciate is that you put on her shoes. Β Seriously. It sounds like a small thing, but here is what it is helpful and important to me and one of the reasons I love you:

  1. The shoes need to go on while I’m fixing the coffee for my long Atlanta commute.
  2. I’m a little stressed and manic at this point in the morning.
  3. I tend to sweat when I stress and am manic.
  4. Bending down to the ground and trying to tie a 6 yr olds shoes while she moves all around is frustrating.
  5. Typically, I sweat even more because of bending down and trying to tie her shoes.
  6. Oh yeah, I also normally have to gather my stuff and finish brushing my teeth, too.

There you have it. 6 relatively whiny reasons why I love that you help her put her shoes on.

Also, as I write this, I realize we both probably should actually teach her to take care of this herself. She is 6, after all.

#ParentFail πŸ™‚

Goal by this time in two weeks: Our 6 yr old daughter will be tying her own sneakers. It’s official. And I don’t have any readers to keep me accountable, so if it takes 2 months, then I’ll probably be okay.

4 thoughts on “Because You Put On Our Daughter’s Shoes

  1. Yeah, I noticed that. You need more readers to hold you accountable. πŸ™‚ I understand why you wouldn’t really promote your blog tho since it’s meant for one person anyway. I feel I’m intruding…..but, nonetheless, it won’t stop me from being nosy! πŸ˜‰

    • I appreciate a reader or three here and there. Plus, if it’s encouraging to folks, that’s even more motivation to keep up with this. I could have just written in a journal (a good friend of mine has done that for his wife a couple times – a daily journal from her birthday to birthday or thanksgiving to thanksgiving).

      And I’ve totally failed on the shoe thing so far. I got to get back to it since I’m back in town.

Leave a Reply

