Love Forgives – Love Dare Day 25

I don’t think I’ve gotten this far into The Love Dare because it always seems like I stand in need of your forgiveness rather than your standing in the need of my forgiveness.

Today’s Dare:

Whatever you haven’t forgiven in your mate, forgive it today. Let it go. Just as we ask Jesus to “Forgive our debts” each day, we must ask Him to help us “forgive our debtors” each day as well. Unforgiveness has been keeping you and your spouse in prison too long. Say from your heart, “I choose to forgive.”

First of all, I don’t think this is the forum for me to write about what I might be forgiving you for.  That belongs in my heart or a private journal or in a conversation with you.

Second, you have been such a wonderful wife who does not consistently or overtly sin against me. I’m so thankful that you don’t make a practice of nagging, ridiculing, deceiving, or undermining me (whatever all of those mean).

Third, alas, I do forgive you, though. We’re two fallen humans. We sin against each other. Sometimes it’s sins we commit. Sometimes it’s neglecting to do the things we should do for each other.

And I pray that you continue to forgive me for anything that might be stuck somewhere in your heart. You are precious to me and I truly want to be a couple that can be passionate enough to disagree or accidentally say something yet open and graceful enough to forgive.

Our heart has to be for growth and deeper love for each other and God. We can only do that if we keep short accounts. I’ll do my best to forgive when you need it from me and to submit to God more fully so you’ll have fewer reasons to need to forgive me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

