Love Seeks to Understand – Love Dare Day 18

I fell off the wagon on this project after Christmas.

And I’m not sure if it’s a good idea to jump in in the middle of the 40 days, but we’ll go for it. It can’t hurt.

I did this date a few months ago during my first attempt. By ‘a few months ago, it appears to have been over a year ago. Man I suck at this stuff!

So the dare is to prepare a special dinner at home, just for the two of us. I will do this tomorrow or Thursday or Friday (May 21, 22, or 23).

We have so much life going on right now – my dad’s surgery, the end of the school year, Memorial Day weekend.

The main point of the dare is to simply:

  1. Ask questions
  2. Listen
  3. Ask God for discernment.

I don’t have to cook you dinner (although that’s fun for me) in order to do this dare.

What would be better for me to do is this:

  1. Put the phone on a shelf
  2. Make sure the kids are occupied.
  3. Etch out at least 10 minutes to ask you questions.
  4. Put fear on the shelf – because sometimes I’m scared to open certain topics. I need to do that, though.

If I want to know you, I can’t be afraid of talking about certain things. That’s so important. It’s a glitch with me: I never want to ruffle feathers. And maybe it’s something that if I don’t fear so much, then you’ll get practice talking about tough things, whether budget stuff or family stuff or faith stuff.

It’s time I start putting on the scuba gear and diving deep.

One thought on “Love Seeks to Understand – Love Dare Day 18

  1. Pingback: Love Seeks to Understand – Love Dare 18 (Pt 2) | Why I Love Tina

Leave a Reply

