Love Promotes Intimacy – Love Dare Day 17

I did a fairly good treatment of Love Dare Day 17 back a few months ago.

But I’m not sure if I’ve gotten better at promoting true intimacy in our marriage. Sometimes, I’m fearful of having deep conversations. I’m fearful of discussing things in the past–even distant past.

Yet if I want to have a deep, solid, and beautiful marriage with you, I must start giving you my all in this area.  Even if I’m worried how you’ll react. Even if I, personally, don’t want to hear things come up.

It seems sometimes that my goal is stress avoidance vs. intimacy. That’s not a great formula for long term success.

The dare here is to learn how to listen better. I do need to do this. And I need to ask questions and ask how you are–really how you are. Even if you struggle a tad on your side of things with sharing. I need to promote it.

The next dare is to ‘seek to understand’ and the exercise is preparing a dinner and having, for lack of a better term, a ‘first date’. That conversation where you share your goals and dreams and favorite bands.

I’ll do that some time over the holidays. I will probably neglect this blog until the New Year.

I wonder if I can keep this up until our 10th anniversary. That’s another 2 years or so without your knowing about it. Sometimes I wonder if you know about it and just haven’t told me that you do.

Anyway, Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

