Love Takes Delight – Love Dare Day 14

It’s been since November 1st that I wrote about Love Dare’s Day 13.  And I’m not going to go back and read my original Day 14 entry (though you can click that link if you’d like to).

Day 14 Dare

First, I don’t love the dare:

Purposefully neglect an activity you would normally do so you can spend quality time with your spouse. Do something he or she would love to do or a project they’d really like to work on. Just be together.

I don’t mind the ‘just be together’, but we normally do things together at night–or at least we watch TV together.  I can do the hanging projects you have for me… the new frame with the kids’ pictures in it and that other thing for your closet. But we have to do it together.

Going off-book

So, sweetie, I will dig into the actual Day 14 text and create my own dare.

First, a synopsis: Day 14 is all about how we can get lazy and focus on picky things instead of taking delight in our spouse. It basically says that we choose to be irritable. We choose to respond in various ways. We lead ourselves into those types of reactions.

Therefore, it’s possible to lead our hearts toward taking delight. It’s possible to make a decision to flirt and have fun and enjoy  our spouse.  In truth, part of the reason for this blog is to give me a way to take delight in who you are. Just like anybody else, I can drift and become lazy. I can get whiny about ways I’d wish you would act or react or ways I wish you’d treat me.

This blog has helped me see the absolutely wonderful things you do day in and day out both for me and our children.

A Delightful Email

We got a boatload of drama going on in the family right now. And I’m not too stupid to realize that while the drama isn’t directly within our immediate family, it stirs up a bunch of crud that affects us.

I’ve been ripped up internally as have you. I’ve been worried about how I should act or not act or what I should say or not say. So I’ve been not doing a great job in taking delight in you.

Here’s what I’ll do:

  1. I will brainstorm the things about you that make me happy and delighted.
  2. I will construct an email.
  3. I will send that email.
  4. I will make sure that email is a little on the silly side, because it seems like this taking delight thing is a call to focus on the joy and fun and sweetness of things.

Here’s my initial list of your awesomeness:

  1. Faithful
  2. Genuine
  3. Humble
  4. Considerate
  5. Beautiful
  6. Great Legs
  7. Beautiful smile
  8. Huge laugh
  9. Wonderful mom
  10. Planner and good at getting stuff done
  11. Puts others before yourself
  12. Pretty
  13. Sweet
  14. Hilarious
  15. Great dance moves
  16. Comfortable
  17. Fun
  18. Thoughtful
  19. Merciful
  20. Creative
  21. Gentle
  22. Patient
  23. Freckly
  24. Talented
  25. Homemaker (as in you truly make our house a home)
  26. Great with decorating
  27. Awesome activity planner for our kids
  28. Fun with crafts for our kids
  29. Appreciator of quality sitcoms
  30. Disciplined with exercise
  31. Did I mention the legs (and the attached tush?)
  32. Encourager

We’ll stop there.

I’m, for some reason, nervous about sending you this email. Maybe I’ll schedule it to hit later. We’ll see. You probably won’t remember it when you finally read this blog.

I love you, ma’am. I take delight in you and promise to lead myself to taking even more delight in you.

Leave a Reply

