‘OUR’ first Thanksgiving

****Please note that any ‘you’ refers to my wife (Tina). See my about page regarding the purpose of this blog.

Well, we just decided: Thanksgiving with just the five of us.

I must admit that I feel a little sad that we won’t be with any extended family. Your family’s plans fell apart for various reasons. My parents are going out east to my brother and his family’s house.

This plays perfectly into this recent kick I’m on about really establishing our family as our family–not as servants of all of the extended family bits and pieces around us.

Our Own Thanksgiving

The fun part is that we can really plan our holiday weekend. Our children are young (5 yr old daughter and 4 yr old twin boys), and we can really establish traditions unique to our little clan. Some brainstorming about why this is all a good thing:

  • We can establish our own traditions around Thanksgiving
  • We can decide how we want to kick off the Christmas season
  • We can find something charitable to do in our community
  • We can keep it simple. We don’t really need 13 side dishes to choose from and ultimately get near sick from.
  • We can create ways to do a better job at creating hearts of gratitude in ourselves and our children

There are other things we can do, I’m sure. We can watch a Christmas movie Thanksgiving night. We can drink a lot of hot chocolate. We can both have a couple glasses of wine without worrying about driving anywhere. We can watch football without feeling bad about it–because, thankfully, we both like to watch football.

Why It Makes Me a Little Sad

For some reason, though, I’m a little sad, too. I honestly can’t put a finger on why this hits me in a strange way. Perhaps we’ve always had a certain rhythm to our holidays.

This hiccup forces us to face the fact that things change. Relationships change. Parents get older. Family dynamics morph.

Thanksgiving is a time of big old gatherings. I like big gatherings. Sometimes they are wierd and people act strange and people say stupid things, but that’s family. We’ll probably say stupid things to each other while we get ready to eat.  I miss the silliness. I’ll miss being able to sneak off to a TV and watch a few plays while I hear family chattering around. Often J comes to find me when I’m off in another room. He bombards me with a bunch of four year old observations while I’m watching my football.  He can crack me up sometimes.

I used ‘man period’ as a tag on my post yesterday. Yesterday, I was feeling ornery. Today, I’m feeling nostalgic and a little melancholy. Just another manifestation of the man menzies.

I was about to take a 90 degree turn on this post and discuss our funny exchange about ‘menzies’ yesterday. I’ll create a separate post in a moment. This Thanksgiving stuff is too good to mess it up with irreverent humor.

Suffice it to say…

While I’m a little sad, I truly believe that God is calling me (and you) to lead our family into new traditions and a new family culture. We need His guidance and help, but we need to take seriously the idea that we, as a family, are called to be a unique expression. We are called to nurture our children, love each other, and somehow positively influence others. Right now, it seems we’re diving into the foundation: to create a home.

This is a work in progress. I shall now cut and paste some of this secret post and email it to you. I’m not ready to reveal this site to you yet, but this is stuff that I want to share with you.

****Please note that any ‘you’ refers to my wife (Tina). See my about page regarding the purpose of this blog.

One thought on “‘OUR’ first Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Me and My Menzies « Why I Love Tina

Leave a Reply

