Love is not rude – Love Dare Day 5

*Note that this is my second pass through The Love Dare (I only got to day 22 or 23 last time). I’m trying to do it in a more succinct manner this time… the way it was intended.

Being rude can mean all kinds of things.

It could be the burps and farts that husbands (never me, of course) tend to slip around their wives–even during dinner.

It could be the occasional foul mouth or off-color joke. Or the frequent foul mouth or off-color joke. Again, I’m not copping to any of this stuff.

It could be sarcastic comments or calling you out in front of other people.

It could be laziness and grumpiness due to weariness, so somehow I feel like I have the right to be an ass.

Being Not Rude

My dare today is to ask you 3 things I do that irritate you or make you uncomfortable. Honestly, I don’t know if this is necessary. I do think I need to be more aware of when I make your hair stand on end. I know, for the most part, what you like and don’t like regarding my behavior and how I speak with you.

But in response to this day’s challenge:

  1. I will attempt to show you more courtesy than I show coworkers or strangers (we all know we can be more pleasant to outsiders than to those closest to us).
  2. I will put a cap on it while we eat–you know what I mean.
  3. I will work to ferret out sarcasm–that kind that’s ok on the basketball court with buddies, but not awesome at home.
  4. I will not withhold my around the house labor out of any attempt to ‘get you back’ for something. I don’t think I do this anyway, but in case, I’ll try to make sure I don’t anymore.

Being Pleasant

Instead, I’ll try to be pleasant and to increase peace at the house. In the end, we all want a place that feels like home, a place that is safe, comfortable, and a little peaceful (even if it’s chaotic in that kids are kids and life is busy).

Thanks for being a pleasant and not rude person, yourself!

2 thoughts on “Love is not rude – Love Dare Day 5

  1. Pingback: Love is not irritable – Love Dare Day 6 « Why I Love Tina

  2. Pingback: Because of the Dishwasher « Why I Love Tina

Leave a Reply

