Because of Grace

Not a person named Grace. Because of an unmerited gift (that old evangelical Christian definition of grace), I love you.

This gift runs two ways:

  1. You are a gift to me–one I didn’t earn and still haven’t ‘earned’. You are a gift of grace, fully unmerited favor.
  2. I can only love insomuch as I’m graced to be able to… this doesn’t meant that I only love you because God makes me. It just means that I only do it well when I’m walking more consistently under the grace of God.

So… you are a gift and my love to you is only powerful when it’s empowered by God’s grace.

Sometimes I think you deserve so much more than what I give. In the end, we all deserve so much more than any of us are truly capable of giving. More accurately, we all need so much more than any one person can provide. We don’t really deserve anything in particular.

We need tons. You fill a lot of that for me. And I hope I provide a smidge for you.

I love you!

2 thoughts on “Because of Grace

Leave a Reply

