Love Dare Day 18: Love Seeks to Understand

The dare for this day was to prepare a special dinner at home for just the two of us. The focus should be go get to know you better. This sounds strange since we’re married, but all married folks understand that wedding vows do not equal completion.

While I’ve prepared dinners, I’ve not set up the dining room table and made sure we ate, I’m embarrassed to say, away from the TV. After we feed the kids, it’s what we do: make dinner, chat over the TV, and relax.

Well, this dare is all about doing these things:

  • Asking Questions: Revisiting some of those old dating type questions like ‘What are your dreams?’ ‘What are your goals?’ ‘What are your fears?’
  • Listening: There’s no better time to listen then at a quiet table, across from each other.
  • Asking God for Discernment: Learning how to hear your heart in what you say and do.

All this to say that I don’t want to be held up by Day 18. I’m going to continue on this journey, but I will treat this as a ‘pass’. I will make sure to come back to it later.

The main thing is that I need to continue to learn about you. I need to continually find out what’s going on inside your head. I need to get your counsel. I need to be aware of what your fears are and what you’re hoping to do and what you’re developing an interest in.

Heck, how else can I pick a decent Christmas gift for you?

Love Dare Day 19 Prep: Love is impossible. Simply put, this is the dare about how we can’t truly love selflessly without the love of God working through us. While some will debate this idea, I definitely think that it’s true for me. Without that love, I’m kind of a selfish ass.

2 thoughts on “Love Dare Day 18: Love Seeks to Understand

  1. Pingback: Because You Are a Mystery « Why I Love Tina

  2. Pingback: Love Seeks to Understand – Love Dare Day 18 | Why I Love Tina

Leave a Reply

