Love Dare, Day 2: Love Is Kind

*Note that these posts are typically written from me to my wife, so the ‘you’ referred to would be her, not you, the reader.

Love Is Patient

Yesterday I avoided saying anything negative. What I realized is that I can sometimes treat you like one of the guys, using smart alecky language and comments, joking around. But often that stuff is negative. Having ‘love is patient’ as the theme yesterday with the task of ‘avoiding all negative speech’ was so helpful to me. It caused me to pause, and it also helped me to be more patient with our kids at bed time–an oft trying period!

Love is Kind

The book gives kindness four attributes:

  • Gentleness
  • Helpfulness
  • Willingness
  • Initiative

Kindness isn’t about just being nice and sweet, it’s about action. It’s about my doing things when not told to do them (changing a diaper, getting the dishes done, folding clothes, etc. without your having to ask me for help). It’s also about being gentle and tenderhearted–it’s like the outward working of patience.

Today’s Challenge: Do at least one unexpected gesture as an act of kindness today

This morning I let you sleep in a little later, but I don’t know how unexpected that was–or how intentional it was on my part. I see in my notes in the book that back in 2009, I declared you off duty when I got in for the day, thereby sending you (very happily) to our bedroom for some R&R.

Today, I do not know what I will do. Perhaps a couple baskets of folding laundry? Perhaps I’ll bake a loaf of apple bread just for your mom? A backrub? All of the above?  Hmmmmm…..

One thing is for sure: I need to continue the no negativity thing. You deserve to be built up by me, daily. Regardless of what you experience from your own inner dialogue or from others, you should find safety and encouragement from me.

We’ll see what I end up doing… if you happen to read this, I take suggestions. 🙂

One thought on “Love Dare, Day 2: Love Is Kind

  1. Pingback: Love is Kind (Love Dare Day 2) « Why I Love Tina

Leave a Reply

