Love Dare, Day 1: Love is Patient

 

Working through this book is so 2009, but it can’t hurt, right? I mean if Kirk Cameron made a movie about it, it will stand the test of time.

So, sweetie, I pause from my usual postings about reasons and moments that remind me how much I love you, to post a mini-journal as I go through The Love Dare. You don’t realize it, but I’ve done the first few days about 10 times, so here’s to finishing well this time!

Love is Patient

These are the first three words of the part of 1 Corinthians 13 that is often quoted at weddings (v 4 and following)–for good reason. The first thing that can go the longer in marriage (and parenthood) is patience. Even this morning,

I struggled with my patience and we’d said 2 words to each other (it was about one of our boys starting to stir and who should go get him before he woke boy #2).

The challenge: Say no unkind word. Say nothing negative. Be patient (and I have a feeling that very seldom are my witty smart aleck comebacks are justified).

My prayer: That I’ll feel the conviction of the Holy Spirit prior to responding or reacting. That I’ll respond in grace to everything. That I’ll love you (my wife) by how I speak to you and how I listen to you today.

Tomorrow: I’ll report back on this and tackle ‘kindness’–patience with initiative, perhaps?

One thought on “Love Dare, Day 1: Love is Patient

  1. Pingback: Love Dare Day 1b – Love Is Patient « Why I Love Tina

Leave a Reply

