Because I Do

This isn’t the appropriate forum for spilling too many guts. I’m not sure how private it truly is and how anonymous I am.

Let’s just say this: In the few years we’ve been married, I’ve not always been the best husband. I’ve done my best to serve you and be available to you and to be responsive to you. I’ve tried to help out w/ the kids, give you a break when I could and do some nice things for you when I was able to time-wise and financially.

That said, you and I both know that I’ve had some failings–some ways I’ve not been as good to you as I should have.  These things come up every once in a while.

I have excuses, but they don’t really matter.  Still, I love you. I need you. I want to become better at being your husband. I want to learn to be a better dad. I want to understand best how to be a friend to you. How to listen to you, how to help you when you need helping, how to laugh with you when you need that, how to encourage you.

I just want you to know–regardless of any of my issues or anything–that you are ABSOLUTELY SPECIAL AND BEAUTIFUL AND WONDERFUL AND GIFTED. I’m a very, very lucky man–blessed man. Never ever confuse anything I ever say or do with how beautiful and wonderful and loved you are. I got tons more to say, but at this point, you’d rather me get my bottom in my car and get home to relieve you from kid duty.

I know it’s been a rough couple days. I love you.

Leave a Reply

