Because I Get To Cook for You…

Yesterday, I made steak salad with walnuts and bleu cheese crumbles (we actually bought some decent stuff) and a homemade balsamic vinaigrette (super easy, by the way).

I made it because you pretty much requested it. You actually don’t know how fun it is for me to cook for you. I love when you’re in the mood for something and I can concoct a plan to make sure you get to put it in your belly.

The corollary to this is that I love to be able to take care of you in some ways that go beyond necessity to your pleasure. I love it that you do the same thing for me (see also your delish desserts).  My desire is not only to continue to cook for you, but to learn how to anticipate your needs.  More importantly, to ask you and to discover your needs and wants and desires. We’ve only been married almost 6 years. I’m sure I’ve not learned everything yet. Not to mention our needs and desires can be moving targets.

I love that I can cook for you and make you happy. That sounds like I’m patting myself on the back, but it’s something that gives me pleasure, so I mean it.

Leave a Reply

